I have read very few comics books this year, I cant be bothered to look at them, and when I do I'm nearly always disappointed, which is a shame because I have spent my whole life reading them, I have spent my whole life trying to draw them, I have spent many hours fighting there corner, explaining they are not just for kids and that the genre doesn't just stop at Super-Hero books.But now I just don’t give a shit, every time I walk into a comic shop I see a conveyor belt of badly drawn, lazily designed, computer coloured dross filled with unimaginative stories laden with cliche upon fucking cliche, I’m sick of defending them because the whole industry seems to be made up of Super-Hero books, and kids don’t even read them anymore they have more interesting hobbies these days like Computer Games, Glue Sniffing and Happy Slapping.
Even my own work feels tired and lazy, the Semi-Ironic badly drawn cartoon schtick is wearing thin which makes me guilty of adding to the self perpetuating shit storm that is comic books ( that and I’m guilty of wasting trees, energy and peoples time in the vain effort of producing rubbish comic books that no one gives a shit about.)
you wont be seeing me draw a vampire snail for a while, Not until I come up with some new ideas and stop behaving like a one trick pony.
P.S. there were some other reasons why I don’t like comic books, but I’m now to angry to explain, I’m off to listen to some shit Scandinavian Jazz whilst attempting to wank into my own eyes, wish me luck.
No comments:
Post a Comment